Teaching in Finland

Today i got a gift! I know its one day before my birthday but my elemantary school decided to satisfy my desire to play with big stuff one day early. I got a smartbord for my class!!!!!!

Immediately i hooked up my little 13″ Laptop to the 2m by 3m touch surface that is now attached were a blackboard has formerly been. Eager to play around with it i installed all necessary software and had fifteen minutes to play around with it before my first grade found out where i was preparing lecture for them. Once in class i happily wrote, turned, scaled and played with the “Bremer Stadtmusikanten”. I think my children are still shocked by all the technical eqipment in their room but they enjoyed the graphitiing on the white wall nearly as much as myself. I really felt like in minority report – except that i was not hunted by dark criminals but seven year lod monsters.

Has the quality of lecturing improved now? Have my children learned more german? To be honest i am not totally sure since i might have played around too much and brought less attention to my students today. Anyway i see loads of potential and will be able to make my class so much more interactive and media rich. In the end really only one thing has changed: Now my computer is not any more in the back of the room but right up front. My children can reach it and not destroy anything. I can stand the whole time up front and talk to them face to face while showing and creating media content for them. As soon as i have found out how to make make it work in the most effective way both parties are still gonna love it like crazy and learn more german.

Technology forever!

5 Responses to “Teaching in Finland”

  1. I’m definitely jealous! Ur not only doing the job I’d love to do but u also have equipment Berlin’s teacher can only dream about . Lucky You!

    • Yes, this is really true – i might add that the shown mac is not school property but still my own entertainment .. The other teachers still refuse to use it and are very afraid of this new technology🙂

  2. happy birthday!!

    dein geburtstagstisch steht in deiner mailbox!!

    Technology forever

    in love
    papa

Trackbacks

What are you thinking?

