Shear Test

My first day in Munich is over but actually I have not really finished of with finland yet. Not only my memories are still swirling back to the people that I have left, but also my work. Next to organizing all kinds of stuff today at the university here in munich I also finished of the report of the shear test that I created last week in finland. As always the paper work was much more dull than the exercise, but what can you do – it’ll be like that at work as well.

What did I actually do? In order to save Arcada some money we decided to build a shear test for composite materials ourselve. I did not have a clue what this could look like and neither had my teachers. Moving on with educated guesses I went from the different stages of brainstorming to construction and from their to the workshop were I have manufactured my ideas.

So far I have always done the mentioned phases only seperately. I have never had the chance to do it all in a joined effort. Quite exciting to see something develop by your own hands from the first idea to the final testing. After my work was finished on friday at 4pm (I did not have much spare time in case of failures for this project ..) I was keen on playing a little around. I have to say that I would like to optimize it. Anyway I am happy to know the competent people who will be able to play around with it much longer and careful. Special thanks to Erland for all the great advices throughout my work on that project.

Closing words: An intense project which I still don’t know how i finished it in time. Let this be a good bye gift to Arcada from a very satisfied exchange student!

What are you thinking?

